2014 Urology Care Foundation Research Honors Awards


Christine Frey, AUA
410-999-7091, cfrey@auanet.org


Awards honor outstanding physician and scientist researchers

Linthicum, MD, May 15, 2014 - The Urology Care Foundation recently announced the list of 2014 award recipients who will be honored at the Urology Care Foundation Research Honors Awards Program during the American Urological Association's upcoming Annual Meeting in Orlando, FL. These physicians-scientists are being honored for their contributions to medical research and the specialty of urology. The following awards will be presented:

John W. Duckett Pediatric Research Excellence Award: This annual award is presented to an individuals for their outstanding work in the field of pediatric research and for enhancing the treatment and quality of life for children with urologic conditions.

Linda A. Baker, MD, professor, Department of Urology, Pediatric Division and director, Pediatric Urology Research, Children's Medical Center, Dallas, TX, will be honored with this year's award of excellence for her exceptional work in the field of pediatric urologic research. Dr. Baker's research interests include complex congenital birth defects of the genitourinary tract, including pediatric gender assignment;the causes and treatment of undescended testes; testicular torsion; and pediatric renal stone disease.

A known and respected expert in her field, Baker has authored 81 peer-reviewed articles on topics of basic science research and clinical pediatric urology. She is currently participating in three National Institutes of Health (NIH) grants, has completed 13 NIH grantsand mentored many urology residents and pediatric urology fellowsin the research laboratory, of which many have gone on to establish their own laboratories. She has served on the AUA Research Council since 2010.

"Dr. Baker is an exemplary member of the pediatric urologic research community, "said Richard Memo, MD, chair, Urology Care Foundation. "Her innovative advancements in research reflect the vision Dr. Duckett carried with him throughout his career."

The John W. Duckett Pediatric Urology Research Excellence Award was created in 2009 in memory of Dr. Duckett, a pediatric urologist, senior surgeon and director of the urology division at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. The John W. Duckett Research Fund was created through the extraordinary efforts of Mrs. Peggy Duckett - Drach and the Society for Pediatric Urology.

Richard D. Williams, MD Prostate Cancer Research Excellence Award: This award is presented to individuals for their outstanding and impactful research in the field of prostate cancer over the last 10 years. Charles Sawyers, MD, investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and chair of the Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY will be honored with this prestigious award for his outstanding contributions to prostate cancer research.

A pioneer of several paradigm-shifting discoveries in both leukemia and prostate cancer therapy, Dr. Sawyers' research currently focuses on molecular therapy, with special emphasis on signaling pathway abnormalities in cancer cells as targets for drug therapy. Sawyers' work in prostate cancer defined upregulation of androgen receptor signaling as the primary mechanism of resistance to hormone therapy, resulting in the discovery of the anti-androgen to prolong survival in men with metastatic prostate cancer.

"Dr. Sawyers serves as a testament to the level of commitment Dr. Williams had to the urologic research community and to making a difference in a patient's life," said Johannes Vieweg, MD, chair, AUA Research Council. "We are proud to honor Dr. William's memory by awarding such a renowned researcher in the field."

The Richard D. Williams, MD Prostate Cancer Research Excellence Award was created in 2013 in memory of Dr. Williams who served as the Rubin H. Flocks Professor and head of the University of Iowa, Department of Urology from 1984 until his death in 2010. He also served in a leadership capacity for numerous professional organizations, including the American Urological Association, Urology Care Foundation and American College of Surgeons, among others. Additionally, he served as chair of the AUA Research Council from 1999-2003 and received many awards for his contributions to urology as a research advocate, humanitarian, educator and physician-scientist.

Urology Care Foundation Awards of Distinction: Samuel K. Chacko, DVM, PhD; Mark S. Litwin, MD, MPH, and Matthew Resnick, MD will receive the 2014 Awards of Distinction.

Dr. Chacko, professor of Pathology, School of Veterinary Medicine and director of Basic Research at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA will be honored as the 2014 Distinguished Mentor. The Distinguished Mentor Award is reflective of an individual's highest achievement in mentoring research scholars and fellows through the provision of an excellent research environment, the exchange of knowledge and the promotion of interchange and teamwork.

Dr. Litwin, professor of Urology and Health Services, Schools of Medicine and Public Health at the University of California, Los Angeles, CA will be honored as the 2014 Distinguished Scholar Alumnus. A Research Scholar from 1993-1995, this award recognizes his exemplary track record as a researcher, urologist and mentor of young scientists. By fostering the qualities of excellence through his mentorship efforts and accomplishments, Dr. Litwin has guided young scientists in a continuing, multifaceted partnership sustained by respect and concern.

Dr. Resnick, professor of Urologic Surgery at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, TN will be honored as the 2014 Urology Care Foundation Outstanding Graduate Scholar. The Outstanding Graduate Scholar Award is presented to the member of the current graduating class of Research Scholars whose work has been judged by members of the Research Grant Review Committee to be a most deserving project for this annual honor. Dr. Resnick's 2013-2014 research project, "Self-Referral for Advanced Imaging in the Management of Urolithiasis: Implications for Utilization and Quality of Care," was conducted under the mentorship of David Penson, MD, MPH.

"The success of the Urology Care Foundation research grant programs is due in large part to our scholars and their mentors," said Leo Giambarresi, PhD, AUA Director of Research. "These leading researchers and senior-scientists work together to advance the specialty of urology through emerging research concepts and methods."

About the Urology Care Foundation

The Urology Care Foundation is the world's leading nonprofit urological health foundation and the official foundation of the American Urological Association. We partner with physicians, researchers, healthcare professionals, patients, caregivers, families and the public to support and improve the prevention, detection and treatment of urological diseases through research and education. To learn more about the Urology Care Foundation and its programs visit: www.urologyhealth.org.

About the American Urological Association

Founded in 1902 and headquartered near Baltimore, Maryland, the American Urological Association is a leading advocate for the specialty of urology, and has more than 20,000 members throughout the world. The AUA is a premier urologic association, providing invaluable support to the urologic community as it pursues its mission of fostering the highest standards of urologic care through education, research and the formulation of health policy. To learn more about the AUA, visit www.AUAnet.org.

Contact Us

1000 Corporate Blvd.
Linthicum, MD 21090

1-866-RING-AUA (toll-free)
410-689-3932 (media inquiries)